Replacing Ego with Self-Confidence

I lost my job and though it was due to a position elimination, I felt I could have done something to change the circumstances. Still, I took my wounded ego and placed it on the shelf in a beautiful glass vase. Embarrassed, I covered the vase with a kerchief of pride and bound it with a bow of avoidance. Today, I untied the bow, set aside the kerchief and decided to get rid of my damaged ego and replace it with the self-esteem that should have been there all along.

As egos, go, mine was only partially formed.  A child of low self-esteem, my ego had slowly eaten away my confidence and my ability to make informed decisions. It had been pumped up by people reaching out to me out of the blue for my expertise and began to grow out of proportion when I was introduced as an “expert” in my field. I could talk the talk AND walk the walk, but my calling had gotten lost in my desire for recognition.

I have a deep understanding of social media in the field of marketing, however my passion is writing. Thankfully, the internet has provided me the opportunity to write for businesses’ websites, social media platforms and whitepapers, but my calling is to write. The rest is simply the avenue in which my writing is used. My writing is the strategy and the platforms are the tactics.

Writing and marketing go hand-in-hand, and my unique marketing perspective sets me apart from the competition. I have experienced design and discovered the inflexibility of branding. I have learned that even successful business owners have insecurities and they often don’t know what they are looking for until it shows up in front of them. I have seen growth and I have seen failures…today I commit to discovering my success.

I am confident. I am committed. I am capable. I will be the key that opens the door of opportunity for my next employer. That isn’t ego. Nor is it pride. Instead, it is confidence in my calling and purpose making way for action.

 

2 thoughts on “Replacing Ego with Self-Confidence

  1. Very nicely written. Life is a journey…each phase of our life is a learning experience and potential for growth and development…and when we embrace it as such, we are able to grow and become a better person. And surprisingly, we end up liking our new self better than the old self we left behind. You are smart and beautiful and very talented. Your next job will be the best ever! Keep up the good work!

Leave a comment